Neue Luxury is a global dialogue on luxury in the 21st century.

Neue Luxury




Long known for exhibiting large-scale, public sculptures, the McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery has instituted a new national “small sculpture” Award as a way of supporting artists in troubled times. The annual, non-acquisitive McClelland National Small Sculpture Awards 2020 is for domestic scale works, no more than 50cm at the largest dimension.

The works from all 44 finalists will be for sale, with viewing of all works on the McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery website and with all proceeds going to the artists. The four Award winners will each receive $3,000.

McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery Director, Lisa Byrne, said the initiative was developed to support artists who pursue the sculptural discipline at a time when artists most need new opportunities. “Artists need our support and encouragement at this incredibly demanding time. McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery is delighted be supporting one of our key stakeholder groups, the sculptors. “We are fortunate to have received financial support from the Elisabeth Murdoch Sculpture Fund and an anonymous private donor to provide funding for this Award,” Ms Byrne.

The Award judging panel members were Lisa Roet – artist and McClelland Trustee; John Young AM, artist and McClelland Trustee; and Jason Smith, Director, Geelong Gallery. 44 finalists were selected from 320 submissions from local and interstate artists, representing artists at all stages of their careers.

We believe collectors are increasingly interested in including three-dimensional artwork in their collections.

The 4 winners of the inaugural McClelland National Small Sculpture Awards 2020 announced are; James Geurts, Matt Hinkley, Kerrie Poliness and Cyrus Tang. Ms Byrne said the Award was an initiative to encourage artists to consider sculptural concepts suitable for a domestic scale as opposed to sculpture suitable for a major public environment. “We believe collectors are increasingly interested in including three-dimensional artwork in their collections, and we are pleased to offer the works of all 44 finalists for sale via a digital catalogue on the McClelland Sculpture Park+Gallery website,” Ms Byrne said.

The finalists in the 2020 awards were as follows; Fiona Abicare, Daniel Agdag, Claire Bridge, Robert Bridgewater, Eugene Carchesio, Aaron Carter, Kris Coad, Ewen Coates, Narinda Cook, Augustine Dall’Ava, Emma Davies, Michael Doolan, Brodie Ellis, Danny Fotopoulos, James Geurts, Matt Hinkley, Odette Ireland, Freya Jobbins, Yvonne Kendall, Madeline Kidd, Alicia King, Michael Le Grand, Lucas Maddock, John Meade, Sanné Mestrom, Clare Milledge, Clive Murray-White, Nell, Louise Paramor, Sassy Park, Mary Lou Pavlovic,  Kenny Pittock, Kerrie Poliness, Steven Rendall, Juan David Rodriguez Sandoval, Paul Selwood, Ema Shin, Matthew Sleeth, Vipoo Srivilasa, Kylie Stillman, Cyrus Tang, Ronnie van Hout, Jan van Schaik, and Narelle White.

For more visit:

Neue Luxury • Art • News • SHARE

Related Features

  • Neue Luxury • Art • Feature • BY Neue Luxury SHARE

    Glass Utopia | Venice Glass Week

    3—26 September, 2020

    Craft + Design Centre and acclaimed Italian design consulting studio Mr.Lawrence, together with 1+1 Design Gallery, Milan, will present the collective exhibition GLASS UTOPIA as part of the international Venice Glass Week from 3 until 26 September 2020.

  • 611
  • Neue Luxury • Art • News • SHARE

    Khaled Sabsabi

    A Promise

    The Art Gallery of New South Wales is pleased to present A Promise: Khaled Sabsabi, a solo exhibition of major works by contemporary artist Khaled Sabsabi. Featuring works made over the last 20 years that consider the connection between spiritual belief, culture and politics, the exhibition brings together Sabsabi’s large scale immersive works alongside intimate collections of paintings.

  • 610
  • Neue Luxury • Art • News • SHARE

    Alex Seton | The Sovereign Asian Art Prize

    2020 Winner

    The Sovereign Art Foundation (SAF) announced Australian artist Alex Seton as winner of The 2020 Sovereign Asian Art Prize and US$30,000 for his work, Oilstone 05_Corrosion (2019), a chemically-transformed marble sculpture resembling a Yamaha boat engine.

Share this